Member of SCNAT

The Swiss Statistical Society (SSS) propagates application and development of statistics in Switzerland, represents the interest of professionals working in this field in relation to practice, research and education and contributes to the recognition of statistics as a scientific discipline in its own right.

Image: denisismagilov, stock.adobe.com

Call for Abstracts

Data and statistics play an essential role in our direct democracy. They serve as a basis for decision-making in public administration, politics, the economy and public life. Rapidly progressing digitalisation and the latest data science advances in artificial intelligence bring new opportunities in data collection and analysis, but also new challenges. With the current technological developments and the consequent availability of large amounts of data, it is crucially important to promote data literacy, the understanding and the ability to collect, analyse, interpret and communicate data.

Statistics offices have a particular role to play in this context. On the one hand, developments in artificial intelligence are opening up new opportunities in the obtainment and analysis of data, presenting official statistics with the challenge of exploring new ways of managing and analysing data as well as making its data expertise available to the administration and the general public. On the other hand, against the backdrop of new algorithms used by various parties to collect and process data, it is vitally important that official statistics maintains the publics trust in its own statistical products. The continuity of the topics dealt with, the transparency of survey processes and methods as well as the quality of the products are decisive in this respect. At the same time, official statistics has a responsibility to point out the limits of the validity of data and statistics.

A reliable data basis and easy access to statistical results are crucial for the progress of statistics and society. Take this opportunity to talk about your work with your contribution at the 2024 Swiss Statistics Meeting!

Download the call for abstract here.

Submission deadline for abstracts: 25.03.2024

Please use the following Word template: TEMPLATE

The organizing committee will inform you by end of May 2024 whether your contribution has been selected.

Further information:

Submission deadline for presentations: 12.08.2023

Note: Posters must be brought on the day of the conference.

Membre de la SCNAT

La Société suisse de statistique (SSS) a pour but de promouvoir l'usage et le développement de la statistique en Suisse, de représenter les intérêts des praticiens, des chercheurs et des enseignants dans ce domaine et de contribuer à faire reconnaître la statistique comme une discipline scientifique à part entière.

Image : denisismagilov, stock.adobe.com

Call for Abstracts

Les données et les statistiques revêtent une importance capitale dans notre démocratie directe. Elles servent de base de décision à l’administration publique, aux milieux politiques, à l’économie et à la population. La progression fulgurante de la numérisation et les récents progrès de la science des données dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle ouvrent de nouvelles possibilités pour la collecte et l’analyse des données, mais vont de pair aussi avec de nouveaux défis. Face aux développements technologiques actuels et à l’immense quantité de données qui en découle, il est essentiel de promouvoir les compétences et la compréhension en matière de données ainsi que l’aptitude à collecter, analyser, interpréter et communiquer des données.

Les offices statistiques jouent un rôle central dans ce contexte. D’un côté, les développements dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle offrent des possibilités inédites pour l’obtention et l’analyse de données, ce qui place la statistique publique devant le défi d’explorer des solutions innovantes pour la gestion et l’analyse des données et de mettre ses compétences en matière de données à la disposition de l’administration et du grand public. De l’autre côté, au vu des nouveaux algorithmes utilisés par différents acteurs pour collecter et traiter des données, il est primordial de maintenir la confiance du public dans les produits de la statistique publique. Les éléments déterminants sont en l’occurrence la continuité des thèmes traités, la transparence des méthodes et des processus d’enquête ainsi que la qualité des produits. La statistique publique est cependant tenue aussi de mettre en évidence les limites des données et des statistiques quant à leur pertinence.

Une base de données fiable et un accès facile aux résultats statistiques sont essentiels pour faire progresser aussi bien la statistique que la société. Profitez de l’occasion qui vous est offerte aux journées suisses de la statistique 2024 pour parler de votre travail à travers une contribution!

Le "call for abstract" peut être téléchargé ici.

Date limite de soumission des Abstracts: 25.03.2024

Veuillez utiliser le modèle Word suivant: TEMPLATE

Le comité d'organisation vous informera d'ici fin mai 2024 si votre contribution a été retenue.

Information préalable:

Date limite de soumission des présentations: 12.08.2024

Remarque: Les posters doivent être apportés le jour de la conférence.